Math 895 Measure-Theoretic Probability

From SFU_Public
Jump to: navigation, search

Room: TASC 2, Room 8500 (PIMS Seminar Room).

 Time: 1:30pm to 3:30pm Wednesdays.


Wed Jan 11

To do for this date: Read chapter 1. Do some questions.

What we did: Talked about Chapter 1. Did all the problems at the end of Chapter 1. Started Chapter 2.

Mistake of the week: In class I said that it was possible to define a measure on all subsets of the set of all infinite sequences of 0s and 1s. This is not true, as we shall soon see.


Tuesday Jan 17 Submit questions 2.7.2, 2.7.3, 2.7.4, 2.7.7. (by midnight)


Wed Jan 18

To do for this date: Read Section 2.1 through 2.3. Do some questions 2.7.1 through 2.7.12.

What we did: Discussed homework problems. Talked about the first three sections of Section 2. 


Tuesday Jan 24 Submit questions 2.7.11, 2.7.15, 2.7.16, 2.7.18. (by midnight)


Wed Jan 25

To do for this date: Read Section 2.4 through 2.6. Do exercises in the text and some questions 2.7.12 through 2.7.22.


Tuesday Jan 31 Submit questions 3.6.3, 3.6.7, 3.6.12, 3.6.15, 3.6.19. (by midnight)


Wed Feb 1

To do for this date: Read Chapter 3. Be ready to present some of the exercises within the text.


Tuesday Feb 7. Submit questions 4.5.2, 4.5.10, 4.5.12, 4.5.15. (by midnight)


Wed Feb 8

To do for this date: Read Chapter 4. Be ready to present some of the exercises within the text.


Tuesday Feb 21. Do questions 5.5.8, 5.5.11, 5.5.15, 6.3.5, 6.3.6, 6.3.7, but do not submit. Bring to class the next day.


Wed Feb 22

To do for this date: Read Chapters 5 and 6. Be ready to present some of the exercises within the text.


Tuesday Feb 28. Submit questions 7.4.8, 7.4.9, 8.5.1, 8.5.2, 8.5.3 by midnight.


Wed Feb 29

To do for this date: Read Chapter 7 and Sections 8.1 and 8.2. Be ready to present some of the exercises within the text.


Tuesday March 6. Submit questions 8.5.6, 8.5.12, 8.5.13, 9.5.1, 9.5.5 by midnight.


Wed March 7. 

Read the rest of Chapter 8 and all of Chapter 9. Be ready to present some of the exercises within the text.


Tuesday March 13. Submit questions 9.5.10, 9.5.13, 10.3.1, 10.3.3, 10.3.6 by midnight.

Wed March 14.

Read chapter 10.


Tuesday March 20. Submit questions 11.5.2, 11.5.5, 11.5.10, 11.5.12, 11.5.14 by midnight.

Wed March 21. Read chapter 11.


Tuesday March 27th. Submit questions 12.3.6, 13.4.1, 13.4.5, 13.4.7, 13.4.12 by midnight.

Wed March 28. Read chapters 12 and 13.


 Submit questions 14.4.4, 14.4.11, 14.4.15, 14.4.16, 14.4.20 by 10am on Wednesday the 4th.

Wed April 4. Read chapter 14.


Wed April 11. Class cancelled.