Chronic Disease Systems Modeling Research Group

From SFU_Public
Jump to: navigation, search
Chronic Disease Systems Modeling Lab (CDSM)
Example.jpg

Prof. Diane Finegood is Scientific Director of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Institute of Nutrition, Metabolism and Diabetes (INMD) and a Professor in the School of Kinesiology at Simon Fraser University, where she leads a group focused on chronic disease systems modeling. Since her appointment as Scientific Director in December 2000, she has guided Canada’s health research agenda across INMD’s mandate and within its strategic priority on obesity and healthy body weight.


Dr. Finegood's current research interests involve modeling of the complex biological, social, cultural and environmental systems which play a role in the regulation of body weight in individuals and populations. This research is highly interdisciplinary and utilizes expertise in mathematical modeling, nutrition, psychology and public health, creating innovative approaches to examine these complex interactions. In her role as a researcher and Professor in the School of Kinesiology, Dr. Finegood has mentored many trainees including postdoctoral fellows, graduate students, undergraduates and high school students.


Chronic Disease Systems Modeling Lab: Staff Directory
Diane Finegood   Prof. of Kinesiology  finegood@sfu.ca
Carrie Matteson  Research Associate  carrie_matteson@sfu.ca
David Crouch  Senior Analyst  dcrouch@sfu.ca
Ozge Karanfil  PhD Student  oka6@sfu.ca
Holly Buhler  Research Assistant  hollyb@sfu.ca
Egor Chalubeyeu  Research Assistant  egorc@sfu.ca
Patrick Burnett  Research Assistant  pjb2@sfu.ca
Tommy Merth  Research Assistant  tmerth@sfu.ca  
Luvdeep Malhi  Honor's Project Student  lma2@sfu.ca
Susann Camus  Research Associate  scamus@sfu.ca
Rebeccah Marsh  Research Affiliate  rmarsh@mitacs.ca
Rainer Beyleveldt  IT Consultant  rainer@beyleveldt.com


Kinesiology Main Office

Shrum Science Centre K9625

778-782-3573 tel

778-782-3040 fax

CDMS Lab

TASC2 8460, 778-782-3110